Bhakti in VedAntic sAdhanA

Shrinivas Gadkari sgadkari2001 at YAHOO.COM
Thu Mar 14 16:39:19 CST 2002

Namaste All,

Here my understanding:

Consider the three purushas of Chapter 15 Gita.

kshara, akshara and uttama.

kshara purusha is the Jiva.

Thanks to the excellent postings of Shri Dave, it is
quite certain now that akshara purusha, the kutastha
is the sakshi. This is be attained through Jnana.

However, uttama purusha (the state of brahman) manifests
only by grace and that state is sustained jointly by bhakti
and jnana (may be this is termed para bhakti).

Waking, dream and sleep states belong to the kshara purusha.

The fourth state is awareness of sakshi.

I wonder, when people refer to the state beyond the fourth,
are they refering to the state of the uttama purusha/ state
of para bhakti.

best regards
Shrinivas Gadkari

More information about the Advaita-l mailing list