[Advaita-l] The Dattatreya Tattva.

Srikanta Narayanaswami srikanta.narayanaswami at yahoo.com
Mon Feb 21 23:51:42 CST 2011

As regards the Dattatreya Tattva, it has been rightly perceived that 4 vedas are 

4 sunakas but if we go further deeper, they are a-kAra, u-kAra, m-kAra & 
ardha-mAtrAs respectively.

With reference to the above,I would like to mention that there are no 
"Ardh-matras"in the omkara.After designating the A-kara,U-kara and the M-kara to 
Vishwa,Taijasa and the Prajna states respectively,,the Mandukya Upanishad 
states,"A-matra"for the Turiya,as the following shloka states:

"Amatrascaturthoavyavaharyah prapancopashamah Shivodwaita evamonkara Atmaiva 
samvishatyatmanam ya evam veda!!12!!"

Since the four sunakas represent the four vedas,we can further take the first 
three as signifying,Rig,yajus and sama and the fourth as the Athrvana veda.The 
four dogs may also represent,Vishwa,Taijasa and the Prajna and the fourth as the 



More information about the Advaita-l mailing list