[Advaita-l] reg puranas

Venkata sriram P venkatasriramp at yahoo.in
Thu Feb 24 01:58:53 CST 2011

Namaste Sriram,
As per the some of the scholars and also the by Shri Sacchidananda Tirtha (author of celebrated "purANa mImAMsa"), the purana works of Bhagavan Badarayana are 3 in number. They are Devi Bhagavata, Markandeya Purana and Bhagavata Purana. 
Rest of the purANAs fall into the category of "Confusion of Authorship" though Agni Purana (from its style of composition) seems to be quite ancient.  Sri Sacchidananda Tirtha says that Bhagavan Badarayana’s style of writing is quite distinct and the above 3 mentioned are of one category and rest is another. 
Careful study of saMhitAs of Siva Purana (or Siva Dharmottara Purana?????) indicates that those have been written by different authors at different times.   
Even the count of dwAdasa jyOtirlingAs is controversial.  As per halAyudha kavi, a great aghora sivOpAsaka (author of halAyudha stavaH), there are only 3 jyotirlingAs ie. Vishwanath of Kasi, Omkareshwar Linga and Mallikarjuna of Srisaila.   Rest are all incorporations by different authors at different times.  

More information about the Advaita-l mailing list