[Advaita-l] Om in the Vedas

Ramakrishna Upadrasta uramakrishna at gmail.com
Sat Jan 14 07:14:11 CST 2012


Adding to what others have written, according to Mahabharata
moxa-dharma shaastra, the Om, namas, svAhA, svadhA, vaShaT  are called


12,260.033a brāhmaṇaprabhavo yajño brāhmaṇārpaṇa eva ca
12,260.033c anu yajñaṃ jagat sarvaṃ yajñaś cānu jagat sadā
12,260.034a om iti brahmaṇo yonir namaḥ svāhā svadhā vaṣaṭ
12,260.034c yasyaitāni prayujyante yathāśakti kṛtāny api
12,260.035a na tasya triṣu lokeṣu paralokabhayaṃ viduḥ



The whole universe rests upon sacrifice, and sacrifice rests upon the
universe. 6 The syllable Om  is the root from which the Vedas have
sprung. (Every rite, therefore, should commence with the utterance of
that syllable of vast import). Of him who has uttered for him the
syllables Om, Namas, Swaha, Svadha, and Vashat, and who has, according
to the extent of his ability, performed sacrifices and other rites,
there is no fear in respect of next life in all the three worlds. Thus
say the Vedas, and sages crowned with ascetic success, and the
foremost of Rishis.




The implication is that: for all of them except namas, there are
restrictions of using according to desha, kaala and arhata
(qualification). As the fifth one does not have any such restrictions
and still is called a praNava, it is the easiest one to lead an
aspirant to moxa.


2012/1/14 Venkata sriram P <venkatasriramp at yahoo.in>:
> So, from this it is evident from pra-Nava is not
> incorporated in later stage during karma-kANDa
> but also implicit in Rg Veda mantras in the form of
> dEvata stuti  “praNavaiH sastrANAM
> rUpaM”.

More information about the Advaita-l mailing list