[Advaita-l] Krama mukthi in advaitha siddhantam.

Raghav Kumar Dwivedula raghavkumar00 at gmail.com
Wed May 19 04:36:48 EDT 2021

> Namaste Subbuji
> Thank you for explaining the distinctions between these three types with
> exact references from the tIkas.
> 1. Those who do intensive and uninterrupted Ishvara upAsanam and attain
> brahma loka.
> 2. Those who do certain specially meritorious rituals like ashvamedha
> sacrifice, or follow strict physical austerities as per brahmacharya
> ashrama, vAnaprastha ashrama etc.(like the brahmasaMstham-s mentioned in
> ChAndogya).
> 3. Those who do nirguna upAsanam or nidhidhyAsanam put do not teach the
> goal of unimpeded/mature knowledge.
> Aspirants in class 1 attain krama mukti - they are liberated at the end of
> the kalpa due to the grace of Ishvara who leads them to self-knowledge even
> though their puNya may have run out.
> In class 2, they continue in brahma loka for a long time and then are
> reborn in the next cycle of creation.
>  In.class 3 , they are reborn in this cycle itself to congenial parents to
> continue their evolution.
> It can be surmised that brahmacharIs, sannyAsis and vAnaprasthis who
> practise disciplines which overlap across the 3 categories will reach
> suitable lokas as per their attainment. For example, a strict brahmachArI
> who also does some degree (but not accomplished enough to fall in category
> 1) of Ishvara upAsanam, need not necessarily be reborn in the next kalpa.
> Om
> Raghav
> On Tue, 18 May, 2021, 3:48 pm V Subrahmanian, <v.subrahmanian at gmail.com>
> wrote:
>> On Mon, May 17, 2021 at 1:45 PM Raghav Kumar Dwivedula via Advaita-l <
>> advaita-l at lists.advaita-vedanta.org> wrote:
>>> Namaste
>>> There are a few such stories/accounts of a resident of even kailasha and
>>> vaikuntha having to return to bhUloka.
>>> The way to reconcile this is in brahma sutra bhAShya where it is said
>>> that
>>> the residents of brahma loka do not return to this loka anymore, in this
>>> kalpa (cycle of creation), implying that they may do so in some cases in
>>> the next cycle.
>>> One acharya once said that this is to account for those rare cases of
>>> someone who attains brahmaloka through repeated ashvamedhA sacrifices and
>>> other special rituals.
>>> In such cases, there may not be enough motivation towards GYAnam etc.,
>>> and
>>> they return to complete their journeys in the next kalpa.
>> The Anandagiri gloss to the Brahmasutra bhashya, very last sutra says: ये
>> तावदूर्ध्वरेतसः स्वाश्रमधर्ममात्रनिष्ठा ब्रह्मचर्येण
>> ब्रह्मलोकमधिरूढास्तेषामन्तरेण विद्यां बन्धध्वंसासिद्धेरस्त्येवावृत्तिः ।
>> Those Sannyasins, by virtue of their adherence to their ashrama dharma,
>> reach Brahmaloka by their brahmacharya, in the absence of their securing
>> the Brahmavidya there, will have to return from there.
>> The Ratnaprabha on the same sutra bhashya says:
>> यद्यपि तेषामिह न पुनरावृत्तिरिमं मानवमिति च श्रुतिष्विहेममिति
>> विशेषणादस्मिन्कल्पे ब्रह्मलोकं गतानां कल्पान्तरे आवृत्तिर्भाति,
>> तथापीश्वरोपास्तिं विना पञ्चाग्निविद्याश्वमेधदृढब्रह्मचर्यादिसाधनैर्ये
>> गतास्तेषां तत्त्वज्ञाननियमाभावादावृत्तिः स्यात्, ये तु दहरादीश्वरोपास्त्या
>> गतास्तेषां सगुणविद्याफलक्षयेऽपि
>> निरवग्रहेश्वरानुग्रहलब्धात्मज्ञानान्मुक्तिरिति नियम इत्यभिप्रेत्याह -
>> अन्तवत्त्वेऽपि त्विति ।
>> Gist is: (apart from the kalpantara returning people), those who have
>> reached Brahmaloka by panchagnividya, ashvamedha, severe brahmacharya, etc.
>> as by default they will not get Brahmajnana, they are bound to return.
>> Others, due to dahra vidya, etc. which are Ishwara upasana, upon the
>> exhaustion of the fruit of saguna upasana, owing to the unimpeded Ishwara
>> anugraha, will get atmajnana and will attain mukti.
>> The case of the candidate for krama mukti is distinct from the yoga
>> bhrashta who is spoken of in the Bh.Gita 6th chapter.  The latter are
>> aspirants of Nirguna vidya here and upon their death before attaining their
>> goal, will go to punya lokas, remain there for long and return to this loka
>> to continue their nirguna brahma vidya sadhana.  The saguna upasakas who
>> are destined for brahma loka are those who are clearly involved in saguna
>> meditation throughout their life and at the time of death, will leave the
>> body, and their sukshma sharira will attain Brahma loka.  These alone are
>> candidates for krama mukti.  The former are not called krama mukti
>> candidates.
>> regards
>> subbu

More information about the Advaita-l mailing list