[Fwd: [ambaa-l] saundaryalaharI - 9 (part 2)]

Ravi Mayavaram msr at COMCO.COM
Wed Jul 19 12:37:49 CDT 2000

-------- Original Message --------
Subject: [ambaa-l] saundaryalaharI - 9 (part 2)
Date: Wed, 19 Jul 2000 13:51:24 -0230 (NDT)
From: Gummuluru Murthy <gmurthy at MORGAN.UCS.MUN.CA>
Reply-To: ambaa-l at egroups.com
To: shriimaataa <ambaa-l at egroups.com>

Our sages have explained the microcosm and the macrocosm in terms
of what we may call the Eternal Verities.

An Eternal Verity may be defined as that which gives scope for
functioning of all orders of creation, from birth, sustenance,
until their final dissolution. These Eternal verities may sometimes
be classified into three groups: the Atma-tattvAs, the vidyA-tattvAs,
and the shiva-tattvAs. The Atma-tattvAs comprise the jaDatva, the
non-sentient; the vidyA-tattvAs comprise jaDatva and prakAshatva,
i.e. both non-sentient and the sentient; and the shiva-tattvAs
comprise of prakAshatva, the sentient. Twenty-four fall under the
first group, seven under the second and five under the third and
may be arranged as below.

1.  pR^ithvI - the earth, possessed of solidity
2.  ap.h - water, possessed of fluidity
3.  tejas.h - fire, possessed of heat
4.  vAyu - air, characterizing perpetual motion
5.  AkAsha - ether or sky, with character of space
6.  gandha tanmAtra - smell in the form of subtle earth
7.  rasa tanmAtra - taste in the form of subtle water
8.  rUpa tanmAtra - form, in the form of subtle fire
9.  sparsha tanmAtra - touch, in the form of subtle air
10. shabda tanmAtra - sound in the form of subtle ether
11. shrotra - the auditory sense that perceives sound
12. tvac - the tactile sense that perceives touch
13. cakshus - the optic sense that perceives form
14. jihvA - the gustatory sense that perceives taste
15. ghrANa - the olfactory sense that perceives smell
16. vAc - speech, the motor organ of articulate expression
17. pANi - the hand, the motor organ of grasping and leaving
18. pAda - the foot, the motor organ of locomotion
19. pAyu - the motor organ of evacuation
20. upastha - the motor organ of generation
21. manas - the mind, the inner sense that is attained, when rajas,
    the mobility of misery is more dominant over sattvA, the rhythm
    of happiness and tamas, the inertia of delusion [we can say manas
    is the root of all volition)
22. buddhi - the intellect, the inner sense that is attained when
    sattvA (the rhythm) is more dominant than rajas (the mobility)
    and tamas (the inertia). [we can say buddhi is the root of all
23. ahaMkAra - the ego, the inner sense that is attained when tamas
    (inertia) predominates over sattvA (the rhythm) and rajas (the
    mobility). [we can say that ego is the root of all fancy and
    converges towards the self.]
24. citta - which is attained by the equipoised state of sattvA,
    rajas and tamas.
25. puruSha or the jIva (of the microcosm) - this is, although full
    in itself, commands only to a limited extent the five powers
    that are detailed below.
26. kalA - the kriyA shakti - the power to do things but to a limited
    extent, inherent in the jIva
27. avidyA - also called vidyA, the jnAna shakti - in a veiled form
    and thus limited in its operation, inherent in the jIva
28. rAga - the icchA shakti, perpetual satisfaction, which operates
    only partially and thus limited in operation, also inherent in
    the jIva.
29. cit shakti - perpetuity inherent in the jIva, when limited by
    the operation of the six changes ('exists', 'takes birth', 'grows',
    'ripens', 'wanes', and 'perishes')
30. niyati - that which causes avidyA to veil the Anandashakti, the
    sat-cit-Ananda, inherent in the jIva
31. mAyA - the condition operating upon the Ishvara, causing it to
    look upon the phenomenal world as 'this', i.e. an entity separate
    from itself
32. shuddha vidyA - the condition operating upon the sadAshiva,
    causing it to identify itself with the phenomenal world with
    the impression, 'I am this'
33. maheshvara - that which is operated upon by the mAyA
34. sadAshakti - that which is operated upon by the shuddhavidyA
35. shakti - the desire which is but the impression of the world
    to be created
36. shiva - the absolute non-differentiated existence, when
    conditioned by the shakti

>From the Vedic standpoint, the five elements, the five tanmAtrAs,
the five organs of perception, the five organs of motor action,
the mind, the mAyA, the shuddhavidyA, the maheshvara and the
sadAshiva (totalling twenty-five) explain the microcosm and the
macrocosm. The thirty-six given above are the latter additions
to give a more complete description. Quite often, fifteen more
Eternal Verities are added to the thirty-six for further elobaration
thus making fifty-one in all, probably corresponding to the fifty-one
letters of the sanskrit alphabet. The additional fifteen are
tvac (the external sheath of organs), asR^ij (blood), mAMsa (flesh)

Verse 9 then deals with the functioning of the microcosm (jIva)
as kunDalinI is awakened and raises from the mUlAdhAra to the
sahasrAra (through sAdhana). KunDalinI shakti, by which the
jIva functions, is explained next.

BTW: Did you buy that new car yet?
If not, check this site out.
They're called CarsDirect.com and it's a pretty sweet way to buy a car.

AUM shrImAtre namaH
Archives  : http://www.egroups.com/group/ambaa-l/
          : http://www.geocities.com/kaamaakshi/
          : http://www.escribe.com/religion/ambaa/
Contact  :  miinalochanii at yahoo.com &
            lotus at virtualportal.net

bhava shankara deshikame sharaNam

Archives : http://lists.advaita-vedanta.org/archives/advaita-l.html
Help     : Email to listmaster at lists.advaita-vedanta.org
Options  : To leave the list send a mail to
           listserv at lists.advaita-vedanta.org with
           SIGNOFF ADVAITA-L in the body.

More information about the Advaita-l mailing list